# **December 9, 2023 HKUAAO Annual General Meeting**

Date: December 9, 2023 (Saturday)

Time: 5:30pm

**Venue: Lobster Port Chinese Restaurant** 

8432 Leslie Street, Thornhill, ON L3T 7M6, Tel: 905-597-8508

**Map & Direction** 

We refer to the notice for Annual General Meeting dated 17 October 2023 informing members that the new board of directors and executive committee members for 2023 – 2024 will be elected at the A.G.M.

In accordance with the Nominating Guidelines and Procedures, NOTICE is hereby given that the following members will stand for re-election to the Executive committee by slate:

- 1. Tim Cheng
- 2. Lilian Ma
- 3. Agnes Man
- 4. Franki Cheng
- 5. Raymond Leung
- 6. Verdi Yau
- 7. Maggie Poon
- 8. Dennis Au-yeung
- 9. Winnie Fung
- 10. Margaret Law
- 11. Evelyn Man

### In addition

12 Danny Leung has been nominated and recommended by the Board to stand for election as a new member of the Executive Committee

There are 12 positions on the Executive Committee.

### Here is the Agenda for the HKUAAO AGM to be held at 5:30PM, 9 December 2023

- 1. Welcome
- 2. Formalities
  - a. appointment of Chair and Secretary for AGM
  - b. Quorum confirmation
  - c. Notice of meeting
  - d. Waiver irregularities, formalities
  - e. Confirmation of acts of directors
- 3. Adoption of agenda,
- 4. Adoption of last year's AGM minutes

- 5. President's Report
- 6. Treasurer's Report
- 7. Election of Executive Committee
- 8. Any other business
- 9. Adjournment

# Hong Kong University Alumni Association of Ontario Annual General Meeting on Friday, November 18, 2022, at 7pm Lobster Port Chinese Restaurant, Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

## **Attendance**

Tim Cheng, Lilian Ma, Irene Chu, Margaret Law, Franki Cheng, Augustine Chan, Dennis AuYeung, Raymond Leung, Danny Leung, TC Kwan, Winnie Fung, Maggie Poon, Romeo Au, Verdi Yau, Hilton Lok, Wendy Kwan, Agnes Man,

# 1. Formalities

Quorum was confirmed by Secretary.

It was confirmed that the two Notices of Meeting respectively dated October 25, 2022, and November 4, 2022 were duly sent to all Ontario members on record.

# 2. President's Report

Tim, as Chair, presented the President's Report. Adopted.

# 3. Treasurer's Report

Dennis, as treasurer, presented the Treasurer's Report. Adopted.

# 4. Amendment of By-law

The following amendments to the by-law of the Hong Kong University Alumni Association of Ontario in accordance with the Ontario Not-For-Profit Corporation Act have been passed by extraordinary resolution:

Replacing Bylaw (3)(a) as follow:

(3) (a) An annual general meeting of members shall be held within 15 months of the date of incorporation of the Association and thereafter within every 15 succeeding months, at a place within the province, on a date to be fixed by the Executive Committee, and not less than fourteen days' notice in writing of such meeting shall be mailed, emailed, or handed to all classes of members by the secretary.

## Amending Bylaw (6) by adding the following paragraph:

"This is the case except where the Association may not appoint an auditor or not to have a review engagement in respect of the Association's financial year if the Association had annual revenue in that financial year of \$500,000 or less or such other amount as prescribed by the Ontario Not-For-Profit Corporation Act."

# 5. Election of Board Members and President

The new Board of Directors and Advisors were elected, with Margaret Law elected as the new President. The other executive positions will be elected in the first board meeting following the AGM.

The new Board is as follows:

Honorary Chairman – Professor Lap-Chee Tsui

Advisors – Ms. Irene Chu

Mrs. Peggy Sum

Mr. Bassanio So

President – Ms. Margaret Law

Directors – Mr. Dennis Au-Yeung

Ms. Agnes Man

Mr. Raymond Leung

Mr. Verdi Yau

Ms. Maggie Poon

Mr. Franki Cheng

Mrs. Winnie Fung

Mr. Hilton Lok

Ms. Lilian Ma

Mr. Tim Cheng

Members accepted the resignation of Mr. Augustine Chan and Mr. Romeo Au from the Board and thanked them for their services to the Association.

### 10. Adjournment

There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 6:30pm.

By the order of the Board of Directors Agnes Man, Secretary

5 December 2023